Journos named Gawad Dangal Filipino Awardees

A HANDFUL of media personalities including tabloid reporters were among those who notched this year’s lean list of achievers Gawad Dangal Filipino Awards held recently at the EuroTel in Quezon City.

Among the Filipino journalists who were feted include Abante Tonite’s Jeany Lacorte (Most Outstanding Editor of the Year), Pete Ampoloquio, Jr. (Most Outstanding Columnist of the Decade), Rodel Ocampo (Most Outstanding Movie Columnist), Roldan Castro (Best Entertainment Editor of the Year), Rommel Placente (Most Outstanding Tabloid Writer of the Year), Nonie Nicasio, (Most Remarkable Tabloid Columnist of the Year), Cyrill Quilo (Outstanding Writer of the Year), Fernan de Guzman (Outstanding Philippine Movie Press Club President)

Another journalist, Saksi Ngayon’s Francis Soriano (who has diversified to the corporate world), was also named Outstanding CEO of the Year.

Abante Tonite also won this year’s Tabloid of the Year Award while NET25 has been named Television Station of the Year.

Likewise making it to the lean list of this year’s awardees include Cindy Joyce Alcanzo – Outstanding Scrap Trading President of the Year, PLTCOL Aldrin Odiamar Thompson – Outstanding Police Officer of the Year and Michael Miranda — Most Influential Import Export Executive of the Year.

Gawad Dangal Filipino Awards were also bestowed to actors and actresses, politicians, educators, advocates, and civic leaders.

This year’s achievers were given the citations based on stiff criteria which included personal and career achievements, character, untainted image, and their personal contribution to nation building.

Find this content useful? Share it with your friends!